You & me ahead of time

 

img-20180521-wa0161.jpg

A week ago I heard the news of the sudden death of an ALU student, Elone Imanigiraneza Nkindi. In her memorial service, the sister of Elone’s friend, who was injured in the same accident, spoke about how we think that there’s always time to say and do things, procrastinating the creation of new memories and the expression of words of love towards our favourite and most precious people in the world. But time isn’t promised, and it can stop; just like this, leaving you only with the things you did and said. Inspired by this realisation, I want to speak to my sister today, and here’s what I have to tell her.

Since we decided that our lives are happening outside Greece and far away from each other, we grab every given opportunity to be together, and we cherish the moments with laughter, ventures, and revelations. But it never seems to be enough; it does not make up for the time we haven’t spent together — our evolution and creative silences. I miss you when you are not here; and when we are together, I am preparing myself to miss you again, more than before.

I praise you for your fantabulous style and sense of humour — an endless source of hilarity. I admire you for being the best mother I have known, and I respect you for being the unimpeachable daughter to our parents. I love you not because you are my sister but because there’s nothing I could not share with you; if I can think it, you can know it.

So similar but so different, you don’t always agree with my choices, but I appreciate your faith in me; and when you are seriously in doubt, I am even more determined to succeed and make you proud. Sometimes it is uneasy when you don’t see why I choose a particular path, and I am so selfish to believe that it’s obvious and that if I feel it the whole world should feel it too. I apologise for all the times Ι haven’t taken the moments to make you understand and mikry mou know that you can ask me anything.

Thank you for all your generosity; for openly saying how much you love me and how happy you would be to spend every single day of your life with me. I couldn’t be luckier I know, but I am too much of a maverick and a lone wolf maybe to let myself enjoy all the affection. But remember that wherever my mind and soul may be roaming, you are my reference; my Alpha and my Omega.

Leave a comment